RFL chiefs announce bonus points shake-up for the 2015 campaign

First for sport
First for sport

The Rugby Football League has confirmed the bonus points system will be scrapped for 2015.

Hemel Stags claimed an extra seven points during the 2014 campaign under the old arrangement, which saw second and third tier teams gain two points for a draw and one for a defeat by a margin of 12 points or less.

From next season, the First Utility Super League, Kingstone Press Championship and Kingstone Press League 1 clubs will be awarded two points for a win and one point for a draw, with no points awarded for a defeat.

The move follows consultation with clubs, coaches and players, and a comprehensive fan survey led by the International Centre for Research in Events, Tourism and Hospitality at Leeds Metropolitan University.

The research took place at Super League and Championship fixtures where fans were asked for their views on the points systems used in the Super League and the Championship.

RFL chief executive Nigel Wood said: “With an exciting new league structure being introduced in 2015, it is clear that a standardised points system needs to be in place in all three division.

“The research revealed that there is much support for both points systems with each having its own merits.

“The RFL Board takes the view that the points system familiar to the most spectators should take precedence for the 2015 season.”