Little Hay’s Armstrong wins the Bryn Aldrich Trophy


Matthew Armstrong scored 37 points to win the Bryn Aldrich Trophy at Little Hay Golf Club.

Paul Rickard was second on count-back with 36 points, in a four-way tie with Wayne Griffin, Chris Dorsett and Chris Venner.

Elsewhere, Caroline Banks swept into first place in the Ladies’ Charity Cup, with a stunning 46 points. Jackie Pearson came second with 41 points and Jennie Walker was third with 40 points.

The Little Hay ladies, meanwhile, won their way into the quarter-finals of the Pearson Trophy when they beat Verulam 5-2 in the last group match of the competition.

This means the team have won all eight of their group matches – the only club to have done this from the 40 Hertfordshire clubs that entered the competition in November.

Their quarter-final match will be against Bookman’s Park and will be played on May 30 (away) and June 6 (home).

In other action, Kieran Beausire won the Junior Half-Term Stableford with 40 points after a tie with Emma Shepherd. Billie Elborough was third with 39 points.

Ben Cooper won the Junior Medal with a net 68, tying with William Howe. Shepherd was third with net 70.

Michael Clark won the Senior Men’s Stableford in a three-way tie on 40 points, with Frank Klimaszewski and Trevor Sargent.