Ant clinches the Little Hay title with impressive final round salvo

editorial image

With a final round of 20 Stableford points from nine holes, Ant Monger clinched the trophy at Little Hay Golf Club’s Midsummer Evening League on Thursday.

With an exciting finish to the competition, no fewer than seven players – including men, ladies and juniors – had a real chance of winning.

In the end Monger came out as the clear winner but only one point separated the next four players; Karen Burrows, Robbie McIvor, Ivan Lawrence and Will Butler.

In the Senior Men’s July Stableford, meanwhile, Division One was won by Martin Evans with 40 points, while Eddie Theobald triumphed in Division Two with 41 points.

In other action, the ladies and senior men competed in mixed pairs for the annual Jefferson-Lane Trophy.

The winners were Jenny Walker and Paul Whiter with aggregate Stableford score of 84 points. In second place were Jacky Pearson and Fred Evans and third were Carol Kent and Tony Hodson.

There were some excellent individual scores including 50 points by Jenny Walker and 48 points by Gill Howells.

Elsewhere, the senior men recorded a 4-2 home win over Wycombe Heights.