A smashing day for everybody at Leverstock Green Tennis Club

editorial image

Club members flocked to the courts in scorching sun for Closed Club Finals Day at Leverstock Green Tennis Club.

A total of 26 finals were played throughout the day – from the junior boys and girls right through to the over 40s.

In the adult competitions, William Knight became the men’s champion for the second time in a row, while Ashleigh Nichols saw off 16-year-old Keziah Buckley in a hard-fought ladies’ final to take the ladies’ crown for the fifth time.

Stuart Foster and Alissa Ayling took the mixed doubles title for the seventh time in an entertaining clash against Leverstock Green head coach Graham Fish and Nichols.

Fish bounced back, though, to partner Stuart Foster to victory in the men’s doubles – a year after their Guinness World Record run came to an end. They had won the title 23 times consecutively, lost it for two years, then got it back this year.

Tracey Woof and Lynne Moore won the ladies’ doubles title for the second year, while fast improving Jack Evans was victorious in the men’s singles 2 final against Chris Hogg.

Tessa Cawley , 13, took the ladies singles 2 title, and Abeek Dhutta and Julie Roberts were triumphant in the men’s and women’s series 3 finals.

It was a family affair in the Men’s Doubles Plate, with father-and-son duo Ray and Chris Hogg taking the title after a three-set match against Jim and Jacob Buckley.

Nik Hingston claimed the Men’s Singles Plate, while ladies’ doubles winner Moore was beaten by Kalpana Patel in the ladies’ over 40s competition.

Lee Whitman also had a busy day, with runners-up finishes in both the men’s Over 40s final against Terry Nightingale, and the Men’s Doubles Tableau.

There were exceptional performances from all of the club’s juniors – including a two-and-a-half hour battle in the heat between Adam Pool and Josh Clinton.

The U8 and mini junior boy’s champion was Max Wadmore, and the girls’ champion in this age group was Isobel Atkins.

In the 10-and-under section, the winners were Ciaran O’Gorman and Holly Nethercote.