A bright start for Berkhamsted teams in the Herts Peanuts League

First for sports news
First for sports news

The 2014 Herts Peanuts League began with good results for Berkhamsted Swimming Club’s two young squads.

In their Division One gala at Hemel Sportspace, the A team managed third spot, while the B team went to Borehamwood for the Division Three gala and placed fourth.

Meme Hancock led the way with fourth place in her first ever race, the 10 years freestyle, while the team’s first victory came from Marley Maidment who set a PB in the freestyle.

Faron Heaphy backed this up with first place and a PB in the 11 years backstroke, while other wins on the night came from Evie Watson, Euan Donald and Anna Billingham.

The 11 years girls’ medley relay squad of Heaphy, Talia Moren, Lauren Collingwood and Caitlin Kelley were also victorious.

Other PBs went to Ellie Ansell, Owen Strakosch James de Lisle, Victoria Ayles, Charlie Truman-Williams, Emma Walker, Ollie Turner, Charlie Woodmansee, Lauren Collingwood, Isobel Johnston, Zack Burgess, Jacob D’Cunha, Ismay Hornshaw, Josh Phelps, Talia Moren and Thibaud Chaussalet.

The club finished with an excellent second place in the final squadron relay to complete a memorable evening.

For the A team, Elliss MacNab started with a big PB in her nine years butterfly, and the first win came from Charlotte Shaw in the 12 years breaststroke as she claimed victory by almost a second with a huge PB.

She was followed in the boys’ event by Mason Brand, who blitzed his field in a new club best and PB. He also took the win in the 50m butterfly.

Brand then led the 12 years boys’ medley team – with Zach Patel, Jack Rees and Jack Bowers – to a big win.

Ten-year-old Louis Armitage romped home in his own age group breaststroke before stepping up to win the 11 years event as well.

Jack Pemberton claimed victory with a PB in the 10 years backstroke, while other PBs came from Zoe Kenney, Dan Stace, Grace Payne, Michael Joyce, Roisin Clarke, Ellie Matthews, James Corner, Olivia Boylan, Isabella MacDonald, Amy Harrison, Essie Harrison, Arthur Giles and Amy Stoker.

In the final squadron relay, the team came home in third place to cement third place overall on the night.