Adeyfield by-election gets under way

editorial image

The vote to decide who will be the next person to represent the people of Adeyfield West in Hemel Hempstead is under way.

Counting of the ballots to reveal who is victorious in the by-election will begin at 10pm tonight.

It is being carried out at Adeyfield Community Centre and, if all goes smoothly, is expected to take around an hour.

Hoping to bag the hot seat are Labour’s Mike Moore, Conservative Barry Newton, Liberal Democrat Ron Tindall, English Democrat Simon Deacon and UKIP’s Noel Swinford.

The by-election was called after Labour’s Keith White resigned from the post - following 18 years of representing the town - because he had moved out of the area to be closer to his elderly mother.

Polling stations at Communal Hall, Old House Road and Adeyfield Community Centre in The Queens Square close at 10pm.