‘Dumb’ Masters mistake proves costly for Luke Donald

Luke Donald. Picture (c) EMPICS Sport
Luke Donald. Picture (c) EMPICS Sport

Luke Donald admitted he made a ‘dumb mistake’ after being handed a two-shot penalty on his way to missing the cut at the Masters.

Hemel Hempstead-born Donald was adjudged to have grounded his club in a bunker at the ninth hole during the first round of the tournament after failing to get out of the sand with his third shot.

He carded a quadruple-bogey at the par-four hole on his way to his worst score at Augusta.

Donald tweeted: “Got a 2 shot penalty on the 9th today. Left my bunker shot in the bunker and touched the sand before my next shot. Pretty dumb mistake.

“I can accept the odd poor shot but making a mistake like that is pretty frustrating and so unlike me.”

Donald was eventually eliminated from the tournament after the second round having carded scores of 79 and 70. The coveted Green Jacket was eventually won by American Bubba Watson.