Santa confirms more than 20 appearances in Berkhamsted in run-up to Christmas

editorial image

Santa Claus will be riding his sleigh through Berkhamsted High Street just after the town’s Christmas lights are switched on at 5.15pm on Sunday.

The results of a best dressed shop window contest will be announced at 5pm and there will be a service in St Peter’s Church at 6pm.

The annual Berkhamsted Festival of Light will also offer mulled wine, rides, festive stalls and other entertainment to people at the town centre.

The festive celebration will last from 3.30pm to 6pm, during which time the High Street will be closed. There will be free parking at the town’s railway station.

An Elves Posting House in Berkhamsted Civic Centre will give children the opportunity to write a letter to Father Christmas.

They can also try some elf biscuit and juice in return for donating £2 to the Berkhamsted Lions. All letters must be sent by 5.30pm.

Santa will return to Berkhamsted to pass through different parts of the town on his sleigh 20 times between Monday, December 2 and Christmas Eve.

He will be in Gravel Path on Monday, December 2, Swing Gate on Tuesday, December 3, George Street on Wednesday, December 4, Westfield on Friday, December 6, Northchurch on Saturday, December 7, Potten End on Sunday, December 8, Durrants Lane on Monday, December 9, Chesham Road on Tuesday, December 10, Shootersway on Wednesday, December 11, roads off the High Street on Friday, December 13, Bridgewater Road on Saturday, December 14, Chiltern Park on Sunday, December 15, Charles Street on Monday, December 16, Hall Park on Tuesday, December 17, Kings Road on Wednesday, December 18, High Street on Friday, December 20, Shrublands on Saturday, December 21, and the town centre on Christmas Eve.

Santa will also be about on Sunday, December 22, and Monday, December 23, but has yet to confirm his location on those dates.